house stuff

We (me and my husband) recently bought a house. We ripped a smelly gross old carpet out of the dining room, to find mostly nice old wood floors that we think are the original ones, which is really cool. Our house was built in 1887. The problem is that a previous owner drove several screws into it for some reason. Last night, we tried to drive them in a little more, and cover them with wood putty. I sanded the putty down today and used some Old English polish/scratch cover/stain stuff to try and get it to match. Some of them look fine now, but others didn’t go down far enough, so the would putty is an obvious little bit sticking up, and it looks like there’s some gunk stuck to the floor.

I’m frustrated about this because I really want these floors to look nice. Maybe I should take the screws out and then fill the holes with wood putty, but I’m worried that the screws were there for a reason, so I’m hesitant to pull them out. I don’t want to spend too much more time on this right now, because there’s a lot of stuff I need to get done today so we can start moving in this weekend.

On the plus side, we got our appliances yesterday, and the fridge and stove are set up. Still have to set up the dishwasher, but I’m really excited to have appliances. Well, back to work.

Leave a Reply

